Education & Training

Lake County High School

300 Cochran Street
Tiptonville, Tennessee 38079
731-253-7733 731-253-7734

Lara Kendall Elementary School

200 College Street
Ridgely, Tennessee 38080

Margaret Newton Elementary School

819 Church Street
Tiptonville, Tennessee 38079

The Lake County School System is comprised of three schools: one high school, Lake County High School, grades 9 through 12, fully accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools and with an enrollment of 288 students, located at Tiptonville; and two elementary schools, Lara Kendall, K through 8 with an enrollment of 399 students, located at Ridgely; and Margaret Newton, K through 6, with an enrollment of 373 students, located at Tiptonville. The staff includes the chief administrator, three persons in supervisory positions, three principals, and 81 classroom teachers.

The Lake County High School, constructed in 1963, has been expanded to include a $350,000 vocational wing which will provide facilities on the one campus to house all the vocational classes now requested, plus possible future ones. Those now being offered include Vocational Home Economics, Building Trades, Industrial Arts, and Vocational Improvement Programs.

Samburg students located in Obion county have access to all schools listed in Lake County. In addition to Lake County schools, Samburg students have access to Black Oak Elementary School, one mile west of Hornbeak, K through 8, with an enrollment of 400 students; and Lake Road Elementary School, located five miles west of Union City on the Old Lake Road, K through 8, with an enrollment of 700 students. Located at Troy is the Obion County Central High School, grades 9 through 12, with an enrollment of 980 students. This school is fully accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges. Obion County Schools available to Samburg students provide equivalent facilities and supervision to those in Lake County on all levels.

Other Educational Facilities

Located within 25 miles of Tiptonville in Lake County and 35 miles from Samburg in Obion County is Dyersburg State Community College a commuter college; within 30 to 40 miles is the University of Tennessee at Martin; and within 100 miles, Memphis offers 14 colleges and universities, nine business schools and 20 technical and trade schools.

4 Year Schools Within 75 Miles

University of Tennessee at MartinMartinTN6,10445
Bethel CollegeMcKenzieTN1,30456
Lambuth UniversityJacksonTN80664
Lane CollegeJacksonTN1,04564
Mid-Continent UniversityMayfieldKY81453
Murray State UniversityMurrayKY10,12066
Southeast Missouri State UniversityCape GirardeauMO9,61565
Union UniversityJacksonTN2,84360

2-4 Year Universities Within 50 Miles

Blytheville Academy of CosmetologyBlythevilleAR1839
Kennett Career and Technology CenterKennettMO2133
Sikeston Career and Technology CenterSikestonMO5636
Volunteer Beauty SchoolDyersburgTN6824

2 Year Universities Within 50 Miles

Arkansas Northeastern CollegeBlythevilleAR2,01840
Dyersburg State Community CollegeDyersburgTN2,47724
Tennessee Technology Center at NewbernNewbernTN18722
Tennessee Technology Center at RipleyRipleyTN12444